Alvin Ailey and Doug Elkins OH MY

On January 4th, my lovely friend from another organization I volunteer with, gave me a beautiful gift…tickets to a performance at the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater! The performance was beautiful and I enjoyed it very much. The first piece was “Four Corners”, and then “Suspended Women” and finally ” Revelations” which premiered in 1960 and was originally choreographed by Alvin Ailey.

A week later on January 11th, I received another gift from the Board of Directors from Dance to Unite! I found myself sitting in the Joyce Theater with many DtU members, watching a Doug Elkins Choreography performance. It was funny and upbeat (I enjoyed all of it, but my favorite part was “Mo(or)Town/Redux”) and I loved the music. Afterward we all went to a restaurant, ate delicious food and got to know each other more.

I consider the Alvin Ailey and Doug Elkins Choreography shows my first time attending professional dance performances ( I saw the Nutcracker when I was in elementary school but I can’t remember A thing). For both shows, I admired how their bodies spoke and sang to the audience. I enjoyed watching the dancers perform together (and I thought to myself, “hey, I wonder what it must be like to dance like that, where your body is all intertwined with somebody else’s body, and the choreo has to be just right”). Because let me tell you, the dancers were doing what seemed to me, pretty complicated partner choreo.

But anyway, I appreciate the wonderful beginning to 2015 and I look forward to what the future has in store next!

Leave a Reply

