Bare Feet with Mickela Mallozzi

When I think about returning to dance and joining Dance to Unite, I feel a lot of joy. I also feel very passionately about learning about other cultures, especially through dance. I’m grateful to live in NYC where there are a plethora of opportunities to engage with people, places and things that are different than myself. When I’m not dancing in a studio or space around NYC, whenever I have time and money, I still continue my dance adventure online. Two weeks ago I was researching dance blogs and came across a woman who is doing exactly what I want to do. I was floored when I found her website, I could barely contain my excitement finding this lady, who travels and explores the world through dance.

It’s been six months since I’ve started this adventure and I’m literally at the very very tip of the iceberg with learning, experiencing and understanding the different dance forms in the world. I think I’ll be on this dance adventure for my entire life! I want to challenge myself along the way, and dance challenges for me are anything that deals with a lot of footwork, various social dances (because I’ll be nervous about messing up),making my movements clearer and catching on to choreography quicker.

Surely there will be surprise challenges, for example, Bellydancing. Two weeks ago I took my first beginner Bellydance class. Watching belly dancers online and having a little bit of experience with bellydance movements, I previously thought that bellydance would be easy. But after that class, I realize my perception was way off! Bellydance is more than drawing a figure eight with your hips. At the beginning of the class we focused a lot on making serpent-like movements with our hands and let me tell you, it was hard! The teacher demonstrated the move and I was like, “what the hell, how is she doing that?!”. My goal with Bellydance is to learn as much as I can and take a performance workshop.

I encourage you to try a dance that scares you! Or a dance you know you will suck at, haha! It will be well worth it to show yourself that you can do something you think you can’t do! Flamenco scares the shit out of me because of the footwork, but sometime at the end of the year I’m going to start taking classes.

Dance+Travel+Communing and Connecting with other People…This is it right here baby!!! Plus food, we can’t forget that!

Experience the world, one dance at a time with Mickela!

Leave a Reply

