Power.On Pointe.

On April 10, 2015 my grandmother and I went to New York City Center to watch the Dance Theatre of Harlem company perform Power. On Pointe.

Power-on-Pointe-BGD

(source)

We LOVED the performance. We saw four works; “Agon”, “Coming Together”, “In the Mirror of Her Mind” and finally “Return” . When I lived in Denver in second grade, my grandmother and I went on a school field trip to see “The Nutcracker”. I have absolutely no recollection of that experience so really, Power. On Pointe. was my first time attending a Ballet performance! My grandmother and I enjoyed every single piece and were really surprised that songs like “Mother Popcorn” and “Superbad” by James Brown could be used for Ballet (view part of “Return” below). Definitely check out Dance Theatre of Harlem’s New York Season next year!

Leave a Reply

