Movement Exchange in Panamá!

A day before December 25, 2014 I wrote a letter to myself:

Dear Simone,

It’s the day before Christmas, a couple of days more before the new year. I encourage you to live bravely, boldly and fully in 2015. Don’t be afraid to make mistakes. Don’t be afraid.

Love,

Simone

To 2015…

movement exchangeIf you would have asked me if I were going abroad for the first time in my life, to volunteer with a dance service organization, I would have said “I wish!”. I would have quickly chipped the possibility down to a nub by over-analyzing how it WOULD’T WORK…no money, no time, I just started dancing again, will I be good enough to teach? I would have been swallowed by all of that, literally in one gulp. But because I was absolutely floored when I found Movement Exchange on a Ballet blog called “Setting the Barre”, and because I immediately applied, I didn’t have a chance to think about why it wouldn’t work.

Move-Ex in PanamaAnd here I am getting ready to travel to Panamá tomorrow to be a Dance Diplomat with Move-Ex. I applied to volunteer because of the combination of dance, working with kids, travel, social change and connecting with and learning from others.

When I first learned that I was accepted to participate in the open call I was 100% excited and 0% afraid. Every step I took to move closer to actually going to Panamá, my excitement level increased. My fear level also increased, so much that the last few days I’ve been asking myself “am I supposed to be doing this?”, “do I belong here?” and “what are you doing Simone?”.

Though I still have some anxiety, I snapped out of that mindset. Volunteering with Movement Exchange could be a wonderful way to give, learn and grow and I want to be fully present to experience it all. Follow my group’s Move-Ex dance adventure, we will be blogging throughout the week!

Stay tuned for these future posts:

Around the World: A Benefit for Dance to Unite 

My Experience as a Dance Diplomat with Movement Exchange 

My first year as a Dance to Unite Volunteer 

Dear Dance Teachers…You Live, You Learn

Leave a Reply

