Movement Exchange 5 Part Series : Part 1

movement exchange

What: Open Call Movement Exchange Trip with people from different parts of the United States

When: June 6-June 13, 2015

Where: Panamá

Why: To connect with and learn from others through dance and movement! To support personal growth and social change through dance!

Day 1

June 6, 2015

Departure: 3:55pm at Newark Liberty International Airport

Arrival: 8:15pm at Aeropuerto Internacional de Tocumen  

(source: geology.com)
(source: geology.com)

I can’t believe it. The airplane is taking off, up, up, up…I’m on my way to Panamá City. It’s my first time abroad and for a dance diplomacy/exchange trip no less. I don’t feel afraid, instead mostly curious and a little anxious about being prepared and getting off the plane alive (I love traveling, BUT I hate planes). I feel myself starting to get sick; stuffy nose, fever, tight lymph nodes. I hope it goes away. I sleep during the almost five hour flight. When I open my eyes, the plane is thirty minutes from landing. It’s a big deal for me to travel because I never thought I would get the chance to travel in my twenties. It was always a dream of mine that would happen someday. But, here I am, getting off the plane, going through customs and immigration. Here I am in another country.

I meet up with our group leader Tinna, who is much younger than I expected. We join the other Open Call Move-Ex group members; Olivia, Hayley, Kim, Jenn, Kourtney, Caeli, Kate and Ruby! Everyone welcomes me with a hug. We load on the bus and off we go to get something to eat.

 After dinner, we head to Magnolia Inn. There is a big room filled with twelve beds waiting for us. I choose bed 3 and end up near Tinna, Hayley and Kim. After we all get settled into our beds and lights are off, I lie there in the dark, tired with my stuffy nose slowly falling asleep, thinking “I can’t believe I’m in Panamá! “.

One thought on “Movement Exchange 5 Part Series : Part 1

Leave a Reply

